On the thirty-first day after your offence, you will be informed that your driver’s licence will be revoked and given the opportunity to request a hearing. G&S DUI Attorneys at Law has some nice tips on this. Since you will only have 87 days to request the hearing, it is important that you keep track of your mail and respond to all correspondence. If you say you did not receive the notice, that does not guarantee you will be granted an extension or that your licence suspension will be lifted. Make every attempt to contact the DMV on the day of your detention, or the day after if it occurred late at night, to request a hearing. You’ll give yourself a buffer of time if you contact the DMV on the first day after your detention, in case the person you need to meet with is out of the office or you have trouble getting linked to the right agency. If you wait until the last minute to request a hearing and run into any of these issues, you risk missing the deadline. If you hire a Connecticut DUI lawyer soon after your arrest, your lawyer will be able to defend you in both DMV hearings and your criminal case. As you wait for your criminal trial, a professional Connecticut DUI lawyer will help you keep your licence. The DMV’s sanctions vary depending on the severity of the crime and whether you failed to take a chemical test. For one refusal, a six-month suspension is imposed; for two refusals, a year is imposed; and for three refusals, a three-year suspension is imposed. Driving when under the legal drinking age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of 0.02 percent or higher would result in a 90-day suspension for the first offence, 9-month suspension for the second offence, and two-year suspension for the third offence. For the purpose of determining penalties, adults who have responded to a chemical examination are divided into groups based on their blood alcohol content levels.